2019 Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag!

Hey guys! Welcome back! Today marks a momentous occasion and it is the 1 year anniversary of my 2018 Mid Year Freak Out Tag! Now, you might be thinking ‘So what? What’s the big deal?’ Well, let me tell you, it’s the biggest of deals. Before this day, 12 months ago, I had only ever posted reviews on my blog. This is the first book tag I ever did, and I believe it’s the post that changed me from reviewer to blogger.

These last 12 months have been so incredible and exciting and I have loved every minute of it!

  • I have uploaded over 100 posts!
  • I’ve made some incredible friends!
  • I have bought way too many books!
  • I have been shortlisted as Best Newcomer at the UK YA Book Awards and the winner will be announced at the end of this month at YALC!
  • I’ve met some incredible people!
  • I’ve conducted my first (as well as a few more now) author interviews
  • I’ve been sent ARCs!
  • I’ve read over 75 books, and completed my goodreads reading goal, in 2019 alone!

I think it’s fair to say that a lot has happened and I am incredibly grateful for all of the support you have shown me over the last year! But, without any further ado, let’s get into the tag!

 

The Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag was created by IsThatChami and elyjayne on youtube and you can find the original video here.

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2019.

Hahaha I already hate this tag! I have read so many amazing books this year, but the book I keep going back to is Skyward by Brandon Sanderson. I didn’t expect to be as enamoured by this book as I was, and this book also helped me realise just how much I love science fiction, and I am incredibly grateful for that!

 

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2018.

This is difficult because I’ve actually not read too many sequels this year. There have been a few I’ve really liked such as Lord of Shadows and A Storm of Swords, along with the continuing volumes of the Saga graphic novels. However, the one book I think I enjoyed the most (and I’m choosing this over Lord of Shadows simply because I enjoyed Lady Midnight more) is In An Absent Dream by Seanan McGuire. This is the 4th book in the Wayward Children series and it is my favourite one by far! If you enjoyed the first one or two books but you weren’t sure if you wanted to continue, I urge you to do so, it is so worth it!

 

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

For this I am going for a book that’s currently sat on my shelf, looking at me with glaring side eyes, and that book is Again But Better by Christine Riccio. My sister picked this up from the US for me on her trip to New York so I definitely need to read it soon! I’m excited and I have high hopes!

 

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

So I actually have a full post talking about some of my most anticipated releases for the second half of 2019 that you can read here, but I actually forgot to include on book, and that book is Supernova by Marissa Meyer, and I am so excited for the conclusion of this series!

 

5. Biggest disappointment.

Unfortunately, it’s going to have to be Red, White & Royal blue here for me. Having read 75 books in 6 months it’s fair to say I’ve been disappointed a few times, but this is definitely the biggest let down. I was so excited for this book and, in my opinion it was… not good. If you want to hear more of my thoughts, check out my review here.

 

6. Biggest surprise.

I have been so pleasantly surprised so many times this year already so I am just going to give you a quick list of some of the books I have unexpectedly fallen in love with!

 

7. Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

This is really tough because I have encountered so many new authors this year already, and the authors who have become new favourites are authors I was already familiar with, so I’m probably going to have to go with Brandon Sanderson or Stuart Turton, but I’m hesitant to call them favourites having only read one of their books.

 

8. Newest fictional crush.

LOL I don’t really get crushes, rip.

 

9. Newest favourite character.

Easy! Emma Carstairs is the baddest of badasses and I would lay down my life for her. She’s so cool and awesome and protective and sweet and I want the world for her!

Art by oblivionsdream on tumblr. (Click image to see original.)

 

10. Book that made you cry.

Like last year my heart is made of stone. I don’t even know the last time I cried. Oops.

 

11. Book that made you happy.

For this I am going to go with The Paper & Hearts Society by Lucy Powrie. This book is just so heartwarming, it feels like a comfort blanket in a way. It’s just so nice.

 

12. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year.

Good Omens was SO GOOOOD! Apart from that (and Game of Thrones, which we shall not speak of) I don’t think I’ve seen an adaptation this year. We are severely lacking on that front. Come on 2019! Do better!

 

13. Favourite review you’ve written this year.

I really enjoyed writing my review for The Year I Didn’t Eat by Samuel Pollen. This was such a touching book that talked about some real hard hitting topics and I definitely think more people should be talking about it. However, this was also the first physical ARC that was sent to me in exchange for an honest review and that holds a special place in my heart!

 

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received).

Anyone who owns The Priory of the Orange Tree is lying if they don’t say it’s that. It’s stunning. I bow down to its glory.

 

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

OH GOD THERE ARE SO MANY!

Okay, don’t panic. I can do this. Like last year I am going to pick books I wish I had already read, so prepare yourself for a pretty long list. hahahahaha help me!

What books you guys are hoping to read by the end of the year? Are there any on my list that you think I absolutely must get to right away?

If you enjoyed this post please hit that like button and share it with your friends! Make sure to follow or subscribe to be notified every time I post!

 

Goodreads | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | Twitter | BooktubeFacebook | Email

 

[email-subscribers namefield=”YES” desc=”” group=”Public”]


4 thoughts on “2019 Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag!

  1. Ahh you need to read Cinder right now! I read that two or three years ago and was blown away. I’m hoping to re-read the whole series this year. I have fallen wayyy behind on my goals, unfortunately. But I’m hoping to utilize the summer and get back on track crosses fingers

    Like

Leave a comment