The First Ten Books I Ever Reviewed | Top Ten Tuesday

Hey guys! It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday! This is a blog meme originally created by The Broke and the Bookish and is currently being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is not something I feel like doing, and I think it’s fair to say I’ve missed just a few, so instead I am going to be talking about the first ten books I ever reviewed. Now, there are a few ways I could do this: I could talk about the books I reviewed in school and for assignments, I could talk about books I reviewed on my blog, or I could talk about the books I’ve reviewed on goodreads.

I’ve decided to not include any books that I have not reviewed online simply because I can’t remember all of them. I also have a lot of small reviews that are simply a couple of lines long on goodreads, so I have decided that I will only include reviews from my blog. To read the review simply click on the book cover.

September 30th 2017
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

This was the book that prompted me to start a blog and so, while I did not enjoy it, I owe a lot to it. The review on my blog is now private, but you can still read the review on goodreads.

 

May 6th 2018
Vicious by V. E. Schwab

This is one of my favourite books of all time and I recently had the pleasure of meeting Victoria Schwab! I actually wrote this review for an assignment for my undergraduate degree, so if it feels a little lengthy and slightly more formal than usual, that is the reason why. However, this remains to be one of my favourite reviews ever written, especially considering I love writing negative reviews (don’t @ me), and this is far from negative.

 

May 14th 2018
Leah on the Offbeat by Becky Albertalli

I loved this book when I initially wrote this review, but my opinion of this book has certainly changed since last year. I find it interested to look back and realise how much I have changed in such a short amount of time.

 

May 20th 2018
Warcross by Marie Lu

And with this book I caught the bug and I realised just how much fun it is to write really scathing reviews. I’m a little bit sorry – I know how much work and effort goes into a book. But in my opinion, this book is bad. Like, really really bad. Sorry not sorry.

 

May 26th 2018
The Complete MAUS by Art Spiegleman

This was simply a mini review, but after reading this for a class in Uni I came to realise just how under appreciated this graphic novel is. YOU MUST READ IT! (TW: suicide, depression, the Holocaust.)

 

June 2nd 2018
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I feel like this book is similar to Leah on the Offbeat for me in that I loved it a lot more when I initially read it. I still really love this book, but unlike a lot of the books that I have rated 5 stars, I can’t see my self re-reading this books. Now it would probably be more of a 4 star read, but I have read a lot more books since reading this.

 

June 4th 2018
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

If you read my review you’ll know – I saw the end of this book coming!

 

June 6th 2018
The Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera

You may be shocked to discover that I did not cry at the end of this book. I was, however, hooked on Adam Silvera for life!

 

June 10th 2018
Turtles All The Way Down by John Green

This is one of the first books I bought on its release day since starting my blog, and one of the first books I bought on its release day in a long time. For some reason it took me a while to actually write the review (are we surprised), but I surprisingly really enjoyed this book and it actually makes me want more from John Green.

 

June 27th 2018
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

This is a weird one for me because I know that I wrote this review long before I actually posted it, but I just don’t remember exactly when. Even still, it’s in my first 10 reviews, so who really cares when I wrote it? This book is phenomenal and I am still in awe of Angie Thomas. I’m kind of afraid to reread this review because I probably do a terrible job at explaining just how mind-blowingly fantastic this book is.

What was one of the first books you ever reviewed? Would you ever consider re-writing a review now that you have more experience in writing them?

If you enjoyed this post please hit that like button and share it with your friends! Make sure to follow or subscribe to be notified every time I post!

 

Goodreads | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Facebook | Email

 

[email-subscribers namefield=”YES” desc=”” group=”Public”]


Leave a comment